• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Cheap vs expensive USB dacs?

lewis

I'm new to the world of computer music systems. Sorry if this is a daft question. There are now USB dacs that cost around 100 dollars that measure very well. If I use one into a very good amplifier the results should be very good sound quality so purely from a subjective point of view why would anyone pay more?
Am I missing something? Are the expensive ones better sounding?

Thanks, Lewis.

Svperstar

Some people like the sound of different things plus also expensive gear allows people to have bragging rights and something to talk about.

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)
One feature you get when you pay more is balanced output. Where possible I like to have that as an option to guard against ground loops. I also like my display so I know whether the sample rate I am playing, is what is being used by the DAC. I also like headphone out on my desktop DAC. And remote control when using in main system.

Killingbeans

Major Contributor
If I use one into a very good amplifier the results should be very good sound quality so purely from a subjective point of view why would anyone pay more?

I think that pretty much sums up the idea that sparked this intire forum in the first place (?) :D

Are the expensive ones better sounding?

If it measures (very) badly, it will probably have a tiny bit of audible distortion and/or problems with the frequency responce and will sound... different. Some designers will claim that this translates into "better sounding", but I have a feeling that the same result can be achieved with a cheap good measuring DAC + some dirt cheap destructive filtering.

OP
lewis

lewis