• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Cheap but non-degrading solution to add volume control between dac and amp.

Old Listener

Thank you for all the suggestions.

Anything that would take balanced inputs and do balanced out?

Would some thing like these do the trick and not affect the sound?

I have no experience with the Behringer device. I have used this TC Electronic volume control for some time and find it to be very satisfactory.

TC Electronic Level Pilot X Desktop Speaker Volume Controller with XLR

solderdude

Grand Contributor
Is there a way you could measure impedances at, say, -20dB ?

No need to measure. It's simple math.

For a 10k potmeter set at -20dB the input resistance is between 9.9k and 9.99k (depending on the load) and the output resistance = 900ohm.
For a 50k potmeter set at -20dB the input resistance is between 48k and 49k (depending on the load) and the output resistance = 4.5k.
This is somewhere around 30% of the volume control range.

Actually the 'worst' effect is achieved at -6dB setting (around 70% of the volume control range)

For a 10k potmeter set at -20dB the input resistance is between 9.9k and 9.99k (depending on the load) and the output resistance = 2.5k
For a 50k potmeter set at -20dB the input resistance is between 48k and 49k (depending on the load) and the output resistance = 12k.

A screened cable is about 100pF/m some audiophile ones may be worse. Lets assume 300pF/m and a 2m cable (so 600pF load).

For a 10k potmeter set at -20dB the -3dB point = 300kHz (-0.5dB at 100kHz) could be lower when the amp itself has a substantial input capacitance, usually adds about 100pF.