• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Changing the Volume Pot on the Monoprice Monolith THX AAA 887

WapKonnJoj

First post on ASR hope I'm in the right place!

I'm deciding between the Monolith Monoprice THX AAA 887 and the Drop 789 and whilst I prefer the look of the 887 I've heard that the volume pot is godawful: digital, spins infinitely, doesn't adjust quickly so turning drastically up or down can take a while. So, to decide which I'll get I want to figure out if I can modify the volume pot on the 887. I'm a complete beginner to modifying electronics (have some meagre soldering experience) so in order to do this I need to figure out:

1) Where can I find the appropriate parts?
2) How do I do this?
3) If I can do this, can I do it in a way that won't look and feel janky?

I can't seem to find any schematics or pictures of the interior of the amp so I guess this will be a largely theoretical discussion...

Thanks for the help!

Bob-23

First post on ASR hope I'm in the right place!

I'm deciding between the Monolith Monoprice THX AAA 887 and the Drop 789 and whilst I prefer the look of the 887 I've heard that the volume pot is godawful: digital, spins infinitely, doesn't adjust quickly so turning drastically up or down can take a while. So, to decide which I'll get I want to figure out if I can modify the volume pot on the 887. I'm a complete beginner to modifying electronics (have some meagre soldering experience) so in order to do this I need to figure out:

1) Where can I find the appropriate parts?
2) How do I do this?
3) If I can do this, can I do it in a way that won't look and feel janky?