• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Can you help me understand "balanced" in the headphone world?

MrC

As this site is based on measurable facts and not subjective comments such as “it makes it sound better” (I have enough of my own subjective opinions :D ), I was wondering if you could help me out a little understanding this.

I apologize in advance for what may be a lengthy post but I am seriously interested in getting a grip on the facts.

I am new to the headphone hifi world, actually, new to the whole audiophile world. However, I have been working in the audio industry (live, studio and permanent install) for over 20 years. Although I am actually in management, you don’t spend this much time without at least learning something about how things work, so let´s say that my audio knowledge is of a medium level.

Now, stepping into the headphone world, it seems that it is the same... but different. Things that are called the same may not actually be the same. I also get confused by many “reviewers” as to what is their opinion and what is actual fact (which is why I am enjoying reading this site!!).

So, on to the subject that I am trying to get a grasp on... balanced headphones, headphone amps and DACs.

First let me explain what (I think) I understand.

I get the balanced headphones part (although I am not sure why it is referred to as balanced, as all it means is that it has a separate ground for each side, like any other speaker I have ever installed) so let’s skip that part, unless there is something else I need to know.

On to the balanced amplifiers…