• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Can headphone THD measurements be considered as SINAD?

confucius_zero

Addicted to Fun and Learning
I'm new to headphone THD measurements but I've lately heard headphones of 1% THD and 0.3% THD and I can tell that those measuring at 1% especially in the mids and treble definitely deliver sound that feels "annoying/fatiguing" to listen to.

solderdude

Grand Contributor
Headphones are usually measured at 90dB and sometimes also at 100dB SPL for THD as well in order to create at least some meaningful S/N ratio.
Measurements would need to be done in a very quiet box and with expensive measurement equipment in order to say something about distortion (mine aren't).
However, distortions above 1% are real and a red flag when above 100Hz *.
Also one has to consider that frequencies above 100Hz decrease in amplitude in music. We would only really listen to 1kHz at 90dB SPL on the rare occasion that the peak SPL would be around 110dB. For the treble it is even less as that is usually 40dB lower than it is tested at (90dB).

That high SPL level to measure at, works great for planars and high power headphones but as many drivers are between 30mW and 50mW these days they have seemingly very high distortion numbers when measured at 90dB SPL. At 80dB SPL the distortion is significantly lower.
So while some headphones may measure poorly in the lows they could sound fine at 'normal' listening levels.

Distortion levels made with HATS in very quiet conditions are accurate but thus also could be skewed because of high SPL levels during measurements.