• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Can a blown piece of gear damage other components it was connected to?

seanca

Hello,

I'm not going to list specific components here as I respect each company, but I'm kinda freaking out. My DAC just started emitting a very strong smoking/burning smell and was also making weird crinkling/sparkling noises. I had it connected from my computer via USB, and to my amplifier via XLR's. When I turned it off and unplugged everything, even the XLR cables smelled burnt as well.

I'm no engineer, so this (I'm hoping) might be a really stupid question. But is it at all possible that my DAC could have "sent" a harmful current to my amplifier and damaged it? Since both pieces of gear were connected the entire time, I'm worried if the DAC could have "transferred" a damaging current/voltage through the XLR cables, especially since the XLR's smelled burnt too.

Anyone have any knowledge on this? Any help is greatly appreciated!
Thank you!

Sal1950

Grand Contributor
The Chicago Crusher
Forum Donor
Hello,

I'm not going to list specific components here as I respect each company, but I'm kinda freaking out. My DAC just started emitting a very strong smoking/burning smell and was also making weird crinkling/sparkling noises. I had it connected from my computer via USB, and to my amplifier via XLR's. When I turned it off and unplugged everything, even the XLR cables smelled burnt as well.