• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Cables/Wires - Electrical Conduction Vs Magnetic Conduction

kach22i

I am somewhat interested in opinions on cable/wire theory, not so much on how they sound, but the science and or philosophy behind the products.

Let's say the Jeff Smith/Hawksford is in "right field" (Electrical Conduction) and High Fidelity Cables (Magnetic Conduction) is in "left field".

What cable makers are in center field trying to do both?

Doesn't a good cable take both properties into account?

I am a novice at this, please explain it as you would to your mother. :)

SIY

Grand Contributor
Technical Expert
“Mom, both of them are peddling pseudoscience.”

Plain old wire works essentially perfectly for anything that’s not a pathological situation. Hawksford’s ramblings are misguided and sad, the other guys are as close to outright fraudulent as I’ve ever encountered.

OP
kach22i

kach22i

“Mom, both of them are peddling pseudoscience.”

Plain old wire works essentially perfectly for anything that’s not a pathological situation. Hawksford’s ramblings are misguided and sad, the other guys are as close to outright fraudulent as I’ve ever encountered.
So what theory of sending an electromagnetic signal though a cable/wire do you abide by?

Can I have a link?

I have a challenge just thinking about electrons moving outside of the wire in a field, and not through the wire.

Where does resistance play in if the flow is outside the wire and not in it?

Is that the "skin effect"?

This PDF review on Silversmith is interesting in that a portion of it is more concise than other reading.

https://silversmithaudio.com/content/Reviews/i-audio7.pdf