• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Cab someone explain what is going on here? Strange room measurements difference

Mentalrudy

Hi everyone,

I'm mystified by the measurements I've added here.
Some context: I've had horrible bass response in my room and consulted a professional accoustical firm (that works for studio's, broadcast stations etc) to fix it as much as possible with room treatments. Now, pic 1 & 2 are the result of the professional measurements after the treatment. Seems perfect, but alas: I still hear huge bass dips, confirmed when I run a bass sweep and check with a spl-db meter.
Now, since I'm not technically adept I haven't tried working with REW myself and I don't own a calibrated usb mic, I can't really verify his measurements. But when I tried a Elac sub which has autoEQ, the measurements (via Iphone mic) showed up in the app as you can see on pic 3, where blue is the nearfield response of the sub and the red line is the response at listening position.
This graph resembles more what I'm hearing.

This looks to me as if someone is fraudulent. Or could it be the case that the large difference in the two graphs are explained by teh first being a easurement with calibrated mic, pink noise and rew and the second is just a phone measurement with the elac app? Seems unconvincing.

Attachments

• pic1.jpg
    pic1.jpg
    73.9 KB · Views: 191
  • pic2.jpg
    pic2.jpg
    98.7 KB · Views: 186
  • pic 3.png
    pic 3.png
    95 KB · Views: 194

dshreter

Addicted to Fun and Learning
You need to spend the money on a UMIK-1 and just measure it yourself. You’ve had professional work done and you have concerns it was not a proper job - and there’s really only one way to properly know.