• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Building a Hifi Stack

Crazy_Nate

Hey guys - thought I'd introduce myself and solicit feedback. I'm Nate. I'm an mechanical engineer. I have always been interested in audio, but over the last couple of years I've put some money aside to build out a nice system.

I have some fairly entry level headphones (K7XX and 6XX) with a Jotunheim that I've had for a couple of years. I also have a pair of KEF LS50 that's currently hooked up to a cheap receiver I have from my college days. I'll be putting this new system into a rack either rackmounted directly or on shelves and us it to power the LS50 (which I may upgrade down the road). Already have a rack and a surge protector (Zero Surge 10R-1U-15W-I). My primary source will be optical or coax out of a dedicated computer, but I might buy a nice bluray player down the road (currently using a PS3). I listen to rock and a lot of metal, so having really good bass / mid-range dynamics is fairly important to me. Also slightly important is not being fatiguing as I'd like to be able to have extended listening sessions. I'll add some nice headphones down the road so a really nice headphone amp is a major plus.

I've been looking at ~$8k-10k for a DAC / preamp / amp combo and right now I have this configuration in mind:

Benchmark DAC3B ($1700) / HPA4 ($3300 / rack mountable + remote) / AHB2 ($3100 / rack mountable).