• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Best way to listen to music on Windows 10

jevenator

Hi,

I'm fairly new to the audiophile game and have a Topping E30/Schiit Heresy w/ HD58x's.

I've tried searching already and got very confused and lost by the vast amount of information/programs to listen to music. Under my advanced properties for my DAC I have 24/32 bit options and now I have 16bit since I installed some driver or program not sure when it popped up. I tried the VB - virtual audio cable, ASIO&WASAPI (still couldn't figure that out and how it works), Equalizer APO, peace, another program for EQ APO, loaded up what I guess is supposed to be the best EQ for each headphone but then there are 3 different EQ's there according to this reddit post which ultimately made everything sound so funky that I tried to uninstall everything.

I'm primarily streaming from Spotify Premium. It sounds good but I always want the best possible output if it's available to me and i'm not limited by integrated windows software or something like that.

Another question is if I download something from www.2l.no what would be the best player to use with the tracks there?
I read that you can get the DAC to switch automatically with ASIO&WASAPI but I could not figure out how to do that. I'm mainly asking about the screen on the E30 there it shows the format that is set in the windows properties. Is there a way to make it automatically change according to the file that I am listening too or do I just set it and forget it?

majingotan

Major Contributor
Forum Donor