• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Best phone currently on the market for DAP listening in tractor over the road

audiogeek

Hello all

I have decided that rather to pay Tidal or Qobuz a monthly fee and on top of that, purchase songs/albums I would rather load all of my CD collection, ripped on my laptop in FLAC format, on my phone.

What is the best phone currently on the market for use as a DAP? What I need is

1. Phone that will best play my FLAK files via blue tooth or 3.5mm hardwire to my radio(with aux jack) or portable blue tooth/3.5mm speaker.

2. As large a storage as possible with an option to add more storage.

My reasons are as follows

I am a CDL class A driver of tractor trailers. I am not an owner operator but have an assigned tractor with sleeper cab. Most of the tractors are 2018 or newer and have a radio/CD player with a 3.5mm aux jack. They all have 2 speakers up front and 2 in the sleeper area. Most of these systems sound pretty bad using the 3.5mm aux on the player so I bought a SOUNDBOKS GO to transport the music to play.

I tried an ION Pathfinder speaker for 100 bucks but the woofer started that scrunching sound with bass after 2 weeks (would only get worse) and bad battery life of 5 hours at max volume.

Switched to JBL Party Box 110 for 300 bucks but that also had bad battery life and also could not play loud enough plus it was rather large.

SOUNDBOKS GO has removable battery and charging. It was 700 bucks which included a free battery. This thing put the JBL Party box 110 to shame. (I could have tried the next level up Party Box but was already disappointed with JBL and none have removable battery)