• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Best "budget" 2021 dac/amp combo (or 2 in 1 amp/dac ?) to drive a DT 990 pro 250 ohm?

Shandias

Hey guys (and girls), i'm really a beginner in the audio and just want to fairly drive my DT990 pro 250 ohm. I recently built a computer and the headphones are currently running on the mobo chipset, which is a crime for a 250 ohm headphones, I know. :facepalm:

Thing is, I wanted to buy an audio setup since I built my computer, but for a complete neophyte the audio world is really vast and complex... Still, I made a few researches and I've often heard that the combo JDS Labs Atom/Topping D10(S now) or the 2 in 1 Fiio K5 were both good choices.

What do you guys recommend ? I have a 200$ max budget and I'm not afraid to check second-hand equipment.

PS: I have a very basic utilisation of a computer : video games, movies, YouTube videos, spotify music...

Thank you for your attention, I wish you all a very pleasant week. :)

Last edited:

liu

If you live in the US, just get the jds labs atom dac and amp. It’s 200 USD in total. You get good quality device, and superb quality service. Buy local, support local.

don’t look for Chinese HiFi products. They are expensive (topping lowest combo e30+l30 costs 300 USD now), does not work as intended most of the time, and when things broke it’s a lot harder to get good support.

OP
S

Shandias

Unfortunately I'm not from the US but from France, happy that my english grammar didn't betray me !

liu

Unfortunately I'm not from the US but from France, happy that my english grammar didn't betray me !
Your english is so good! Better than mine! (an immigrant living in the US)