• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Balanced Hardware Equalizer

aldarrin

Does anyone have any recommendations for a Equalizer to use in a balanced headphone setup? I'm currently using PEACE / EqualizerAPO but it's not as stable as I'd like.

Current chain: PC => Topping D90 => Little Bear XLR Switch => Topping A90 MQA / Stax 353X / Monoprice Liquid Platinum => Headphones.

I'm assuming that something sitting in between the DAC and the switch would be best? I have a Tidal Master subscription, so not really interested in anything that won't let me play MQA content. Also not interested in a pros & cons discussion of MQA (I've spent the money, it's moot).

Thanks up front!

Raghava

My setup is PC -> D90 (MQA) balanced out --> A90 (4mm trrs balanced out) --> Arya headphones. Content is from TIDAL master. I use Audirvana + toneboosters Equalizer 4 VST3 plugin in window10 for Equalization. I have setup the equalizer settings based on AutoEq (https://github.com/jaakkopasanen/AutoEq) for my headphones. This is working well. I don`t see why we need any hardware equalizer in Analog domain. It may reduce SNR ? I was setup able to use Equalizer APO directly with TIDAL app and setup Parametric EQ using PEACE. But, some how, it did not sound as good as using Equalizer 4 VST3 plugin in Audirvana, but I did not face any stability issues.

Most of the songs I listen in TIDAL are 44.1 or 48 / 24bit or 16bit. I do listen to MQA content as well, but I need to change the settings in Audirvana to decode MQA in software to use the equalizer.

DonH56

Master Contributor
Technical Expert
Forum Donor