• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

mcphable

I'm completely new to the idea of using a DAC + Amp or Combo when I'm not in my home studio with my Apogee Ensemble Thunderbolt interface. I had just been using my 2019 MacBook Pro laptop's headphone out when someone suggested I look into a DAC & Amp. My headphones are OPPO PM-3 with an upgraded cable (TRS, not TRRS). After reading lots of reviews and content here and elsewhere, I'm 99% sure that something as cheap and simple as the Musiland MU2 Plus will improve the sound (transients, imaging, depth, separation, etc) I'm getting from my 2019 MacBook Pro headphone out. My goal is something neutral/revealing that will translate well when I get back to the studio (it's solely for production/mixing). This setup will be more of a permanent install at my office.

So, I'm trying to get an idea of how much of an investment it will take to at least get comparable results to my Apogee Ensemble TB and easy to drive PM-3's. Can it be done for $200 by the D10 + Atom, or $220 by the DX3 Pro, or maybe a little higher at $350ish by the D50 + Atom? If it is an easy thing to do with one of those options, what DAC + Amp or Combo would be a noticeable improvement to the Apogee Ensemble TB?

Blumlein 88

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
Any of those you list should work. The DX3 Pro should do what you need in one small box.

OP
M

mcphable

Thanks for those recommendations!