• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Audeze MM-500 USB DAC/Amp recomendation

kiniko

Hi everbody,

I'm a music producer and sound engineer looking for advice.
i'm trying to find the best compromise portable DAC/AMP for working on the road with an Audeze MM-500.
Idealy USB powered (or battery powered) which mean i don't have to carry any power supply and can let my laptop feeding it.

Audeze MM-500 main Spec are:

Sensitivity100 dB/1mW (at Drum Reference Point)
Impedance18 ohms
Max power handling5W RMS
Min recommended power>100mW
Recommended power level>250mW

as far as i digged for the last Two days, few options emerge but i started getting really confuse so i prefer to ask proffesional geeks than buying unnappropriate material.
in the studio i'm using an old Benschmark Dac 1 which wok well enough but is totally innapropriate to carry around.
So any Advice would be really welcome at this point.
Maybe i should precise that i'm looking for an amp as transparent as possible, nothing colored.
Thx in advance for reading this.
Kiniko

ps: I could mention that it don't necessarily have to be a dongle like a dragonfly or an apogee groove, and the price is not a major issue if the product is good.
Also my computer is a Macbook Pro mid 2015 with usb 3 type A connector providing 5v 900ma (4.5w)

Last edited:

MRC01

Major Contributor
If those numbers are correct, then the voltage sensitivity is 90 dB SPL at 0.04243 V. That is quite sensitive - these headphones don't need much voltage.