• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Are measurements really telling the whole story?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoeKickass

I've been into audio for a little while now, and it's been a fascinating journey. While I love music, I discovered early on that my critical listening ability is mediocre at best. I might be able to pick one device over another, but it's pretty much at a subconscious level. To me, reading eloquent reviews of audio products was similar to reading reviews about wine, lots of poetry and romance but not much substance I could actually relate to in my own experience.

I am an electrical engineer so I love quantifiable measurements and comparison, they just make life easier! For a long time I just bought what had the best specs I could afford, until I tried a multibit dac by schiit and discovered that somehow something that measured worse and had worse specs, actually sounded better to me... even with my below-average ears!

In science and physics getting unexpected results is actually the most exciting thing because it means there is something new that you still need to understand. I wonder if that's what is happening right now in the audiophile world. We have measurements like THD and freq. response, etc. but they are actually incredibly basic static tests compared to the complexity and dynamics of a music signal...