• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

ARC sets the crossover at 150 hz. Why?

ex audiophile

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
I thought I'd share what appears to be my first serious room acoustic problem. The system noted at the bottom is located in a 15 x 20 bedroom; lots of furniture, carpet, queen bed and original shipping boxes for audio stuff. When I ran the ARC program (Genesis) I was very surprised to see how high the program had set the crossover. I repeated the sampling protocol 3 times with almost identical results each time. Be aware I am a novice at this. In reviewing the response curves I noticed that output from both speakers was markedly attenuated at around 100hz. My assumption is that the ARC wizard, after saying "shit, look at that drop around 100 hz" decided to get some help from the sub and moved the crossover up so that the sub could cover the missing frequencies.

system target.jpg

My understanding of drops/nulls/suckouts is that they are difficult if not impossible for room correction to deal with, and in fact attempting to do so with the mains can put a dangerously high load on the amp. The sub, with its own powerful amp is better able to cover these drops. All this is supposition on my part.
Further, the downside of high crossovers is that the sub starts putting out directional frequencies and perhaps subs are not as good at reproducing these +100 hz frequencies, not sure. Obviously there are a number of good reasons why 80 is typically advised.