• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Any opinions on HD-25?

KaiserSoze

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Sennheiser USA currently has the HD-25 on sale for $100. I'm a Sennheiser guy from the mid-70s, HD-414, HD-424, HD-580, and a few less memorable models along the way. But I have no experience with this "DJ" headphone, and wasn't even aware of it until I saw the promotional ad somewhere. Apparently the near-indestructibility is part of the appeal. But that won't matter to me if they don't sound good, and all of the Sennheiser phones I've like have had open or at least vented back. (The HD414 and HD424 had those cups that housed the drivers but the cups were well-ventilated.) So I might not like the HD-25. Anyway, if anyone here has any experience with them and has an opinion I will appreciate it if you'll share.

Alice of Old Vincennes

Major Contributor
Sennheiser USA currently has the HD-25 on sale for $100. I'm a Sennheiser guy from the mid-70s, HD-414, HD-424, HD-580, and a few less memorable models along the way. But I have no experience with this "DJ" headphone, and wasn't even aware of it until I saw the promotional ad somewhere. Apparently the near-indestructibility is part of the appeal. But that won't matter to me if they don't sound good, and all of the Sennheiser phones I've like have had open or at least vented back. (The HD414 and HD424 had those cups that housed the drivers but the cups were well-ventilated.) So I might not like the HD-25. Anyway, if anyone here has any experience with them and has an opinion I will appreciate it if you'll share.
Go for HD 598. Most comfortable headphone ever owned. I also own 650. Prefer 598. My first headphone was the 414.

OP
KaiserSoze

KaiserSoze