• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Another new member from the Netherlands

Eirikur

Hi all, just a quick post to introduce myself.

First some background. I'm a computing scientist (MSc) working as software architect. While I do know which side of the iron is hot, my electronics experiments are restricted mostly to repairs like fixing the HDMI board of my Onkyo AVR and recapping the crossovers of my speakers. My daily job requires me to have a scientific stance: show me the data and show me repeatability. Analysis is typically not finished until all anomalies are explained.

My interest in music was kindled by my mother who played the piano and "forced" me to play as well - no regrets!
We always had access to lo-fi cassette-tape machines from an early age, and in high-school I finally bought a record player and a sort-of decent amplifier with speakers - switching to CD as early as 1985 or so. These days it's mostly streamed lossless audio.
Recently I also started playing guitar as cheap alternative to the mid-life crisis convertible.

The music I enjoy is varied, there is prog-rock like King Crimson and VdGG, heavy rock like Deep Purple and Led Zeppelin, classical like Bach, Chopin and Scriabin, guitar centered like Al Di Meola and Paco de Lucia and also jazz by for instance Miles Davis and John Coltrane.

Our current home has a lot of reflective surfaces in the living, so I've been frugal with regard to gear so far.