• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Another DAC/AMP combo thread...

lotusworks

Hey everyone,

Newbie here, been into the audio scene for a while always peaking from the outskirts and thought given the current climate I might look to invest into my setup. As such, being from the land down under and having a terrible market and overpriced local suppliers thought I would ask the brains trust for a little direction. Basically I want a desktop DAC/AMP combo and it doesnt necessiraly have to be a combo unit or matching components. Basically the best value for money given that there is quite a few new components being released. My current headphone that I'll be needing to power is the original HiFiMAN HE-400, I am probably going to have to look into new cables as they are the original ones which are starting to fail and depending on the setup may need to suit a balanced output which is not being taken into account budget wise. Current budget is ~$250USD incl shipping to Australia.

The current options are:

Schiit Magni/Modi stack - Purchasing from them directly with a lovely $50USD shipping cost as even at $250USD they come out cheaper than the $520 AUD to buy them from the local supplier
FiiO K5 Pro stack - From AliExpress
FiiO K5 Amp + Another DAC - From AliExpress
JDS Labs stack - Again direct from JDS

After looking at all the reviews I was mainly wondering if anyone owns/owned a pair of the original HE-400 and could provide an actual suggestion based of a real listening test rather than pure numbers sake. Any help would be appreciated.

Tks

Major Contributor