• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Analog v Digital listening tests

Prep74

Hi all, newbie here.

I came across this 2000 paper, Geringer, J., Dunnigan, P. "Listener Preferences and Perception of Digital versus Analog Live Concert Recordings." Bulletin of the Council for Research in Music Education. 1 Jul. 2000, Number 145: 1-13.

Music majors were subjects who listened to digital and analog recordings of the same concert performance, recorded unequalized and unmixed (to control EQ variables and level matched. It was a double blind test and the listeners were able to switch back and forth between the two at will. Overall, the digital version was preferred in all ten scoring areas.

The researchers concluded that music major listeners rated the digital versions of live concert recordings as higher in quality than the corresponding analog versions. The listeners gave significantly higher ratings to the digital presentations in bass, treble and overall quality, as well as separation of instruments and voices. The ratings were consistent across loudspeaker and headphone listening conditions.

The main criticism of this test was that the media used was compact disc and cassette tape (albeit high bias tapes recorded on a professional deck), so it is not directly comparable with vinyl or a professional reel to reel recording. However, it would be quite difficult to produce a similar vinyl record, ie direct to disc and unequalised and a professional reel to reel would have been academic as it is quite rare for an individual to be listening to music on such a deck.