• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Analog to Digital and Digital to Analog Conversions

muzzammil236

Hi,

I am new in this field. I have a question. Can we really recover an analog signal (like recording my voice in an analog media best available to date) in its true essence after been converted to digital signal? I mean digital would be a discrete sampling of that continuous analog signal (of almost infinite resolution). How that digital signal can be recovered back to a true original analog signal that was recorded in first place??

Regards,

Muzzammil.

BDWoody

Chief Cat Herder
Forum Donor
Hi,

I am new in this field. I have a question. Can we really recover an analog signal (like recording my voice in an analog media best available to date) in its true essence after been converted to digital signal?

Yes. It's not intuitive, and involves more math than most will have had, but if there is magic in Hi-Fi, it is in Sampling Theory.

Monty does a very good job describing it, but look into Nyquist Shannon if you want more.

Last edited:

DVDdoug

Major Contributor
I mean digital would be a discrete sampling of that continuous analog signal (of almost infinite resolution).
Analog doesn't have infinite resolution... The usable resolution is limited by noise. I don't know of any analog format that can match the resolution of a CD. Analog also has frequency response variations and distortion that doesn't exist in the digital domain.

The weak link in (modern digital) recording is the "analog side"... Room acoustics and room noise, microphone non-linearities, and preamplifier noise. The weak links in playback are also the analog speakers and room acoustics, and maybe the amplifier.