• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Amplifier Sonic Signatures

Dimitrov

I had a debate with a friend of mine yesterday about the role of tone controls in amplifiers and his position was that tone controls mess up the signal and he prefers to listen without them. Fair enough.

So it got me thinking. If tone controls mess up the signal to reach a desired preference then to me the idea of an amplifier sonic signature is similar in that (I assume) the waveform is distorted/messed up in various ways to achieve a "flavour" of sound. Is this line of thinking correct?

I'm no amp designer so I would appreciate comments from those more experienced. If an amp is claimed to have "warmth" or "recessed mids" or whatever, and assuming these characteristics are limited to the amp itself, is that not deviating from the core operation of an amp?

If this is true, then purists are in a bit of a pickle ie tone controls mess up the signal, amps that have a "sound" mess up the signal.

DonH56

Master Contributor
Technical Expert
Forum Donor
An age-old debate that for me falls into the "religious" category so not worth the effort to participate. Here are my off-the-cuff responses:
  1. EQ is used extensively throughout the recording and playback process. Tone controls are just one more step of EQ. Since the consumer probably does not listen in the same room using the same components as the final mastering/mixing engineer then it is unlikely the consumer is hearing the exact same final result anyway. Tweaking tone controls to taste and to help correct room response and so far doesn't seem any worse to me than all the bazillions of things done up to that point.