• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Amplifier *Novice alert*

LinusR

Hi All,

I'm completely new to the world of Hi FI Music and I have a question which is very possibly dumb. I have a Harman Kardon AVR151s receiver which delivers 75W per channel, as per their user manual. Currently I just have a very poor set up with 5 JBL satellites + a JBL Powered Sub connected to it. I'm considering setting up a good audio system. My main concern is, is this receiver good enough for more contemporary hi-fi speakers? I've read better reviews about other brands of amps which deliver much lower current (like Marantz, Denon etc delivering as low as 30W per channel). I don't understand how these can be better than something that delivers more power to the speakers. How do they differ or how can an amp make music sound better? The more I read mainstream reviews, the more hollow they sound.

solderdude

Grand Contributor
Speakers and above all their positioning is THE most important thing determining the sound quality.
Output power is more related to the max SPL (how loud it goes without starting to sound nasty).
Efficiency and impedance of the speakers also have an influence on the fact if 7x 30W is enough or you need substantially more (75W or next step 200W).

So look around for speakers you like/want and have auditioned in a shop (if possible) connect them to your AVR and play around with positioning and EQ before changing the electronics.

anphex

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
Welcome to ASR,