• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Amp suggestions for Salk Songsurround 1

cart

I'll make this rather short if possible (I tend to ramble.) I'm not a proper audiophile person, just bought a townhouse and am quite busy but want to upgrade my current set up and love music.

I'm fairly fixated on the salk soundsurround 1 bookshelf speakers for both near and mid field audio at fairly low levels (no idea what Db that might be tbh.)

The person who suggested those speakers also suggested the Yamaha a-s501 amp. As it checks several boxes of mine:
Bluetooth capable, solid build and reviews, subwoofer out, headset out, and presumably plenty of headroom for a location where the hoa has quiet hours starting at.... 8pm to 10am.. so it's a fairly quiet area and I have shared walls. Also, I should add the msrp on the Yamaha's are the upper end that I'm looking to spend.

I will never hear these speakers at their full volume rated at 8 ohm 100watts, and 84 db.

I suppose I'll add I like a warm tone (I know the speakers arent warm but they seem to be speakers nobody seems to get rid of in a hurry and I prefer quality/price over that) though from what I've read the verdict is still out if an amp would play a noticable role in something like that either way.

It will be for listening to music ofc, but also video games and other pc related audio stuff like yt videos zoom calls etc etc.. and hopefully sooner than later entertaining guests who I look forward to meeting in the near future. And yes audio source is my PC.

Just moved from colorado to Florida.. still cant believe I'm just an hour drive from the Atlantic.. though I do miss that colorado weather.

Thanks for any suggestions or advice.

Last edited:

jkonst