• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Amp recommendation for Hifiman HE-560

sakujou

Hello everyone,

A newbie here. Up until now I have just be stalking around, reading and educating myself on how not to fall into audophile snake oil traps. :D

But now I am in trouble. I got a good deal on a pair of Hifiman HE-560 and snatched them.
The thing is - my Schiit Magni 3 is not doing really well with them. Tried both low and high gain and at loud listening levels (volume after 12 o'clock) there is a lot of audible distortion. Tried 2 different sources - PC->USB-> SMSL M8A and Denon CD player->Optical->SMSL M8A. From the Denon CD it is slightly better, but still too distorted for my liking. I would even call it ear piercing.

After a lot of reading around forums, most people say that numbers and theory aside, the HE-560 need a LOT of oomph and more than an entry level amp.

So I would really appreciate a recommendation for an amp. Would 200-250 Euro (for used) cut it? Or do I really need to spend more? Because if I do I might as well just sell the Hifiman, since the situation would really get out of my price range and I would prefer to get some easier to drive cans.
I wouldn't mind a DAC + Amp combo as well, maybe in the range of 400-500 (for used). But here with the DAC I would get a bit more picky and would like to get a toroid, balanced fixed output and at least 1 optical, 1 coaxial and 1 usb (with DSD support) inputs.

Thanks in advance! :)