• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Amp for Aeon RT Open

HillCountry

I am very new to headphones; I've always been a speaker person. I just purchased a Topping EX5 and a Sennheiser HD560s headphone and now I fear I may have another obsession creating hobby in my life.

I would like to try out a planar headphone for fun and the Dan Clark Aeon Open RT has caught my eye but I don't know if the EX5 has enough amplifier for the Aeon's. What are your thoughts and/or suggestions?

Other 'phone recommendations would be welcome if another option is better choice. I tend to like a neutral sound and very much enjoy hearing the details in the music. I don't mind sacrificing a bit of bass for detail if required but I still want it present and for it to be clean with some impact. Good dynamics are nice too.
I haven't gone down the rabbit-hole far enough to spend a ton of money on getting the best just yet. Something in the $500 range give or take would be nice.

Last edited:
OP
H

HillCountry

Thank you for taking the time to respond. I will likely go with closed version after reading some other people’s takes on it. I hope I choose wisely. I’m not used to spending that much on a headphone. As much as my speakers have cost me in the past I’m not sure why it bothers me.

enricoclaudio

Major Contributor
Audio Company
I’m driving my DCA AEON 2 Noires with a Topping A30Pro without any issues. I can’t even pass 2 o’clock on the volume knob so I have plenty headroom still.

Riaz-Ahmed

EX5's 1W into 33 ohm should be fine at the lower impedance of Aeons. @Riaz-Ahmed was very happy with an EX5 and Aeons IIRC.
good memory @Helicopter !!