• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Amp+DAC for HD800s? Are they really that differnet?

Mehdiem

Hi Folks. I'm new to the headphone world. I have been enjoying my KEF-LS50 + Yamaha NR602 for a long time now and recently purchased an HD800s headphone. I’m currently using my HD800s with Dragonfly Colabt amp/DAC. I’m looking to buy a desktop amp. I will be connecting it to my streamer (Bluesound Node through Coax) to stream from Tidal. So connecting permanently to a computer is not an option, hence, using EQ software won’t be practical, however, I don’t mind buying a physical EQ a bit later. For now, My budget is up to $500 but I could go a bit higher if necessary. I’m ok with both stacks or integrated but don’t want the tube. I’m generally listening to jazz, classical, soundtrack, strings, pop, and some slow rocks. I posted my questions on Reddit and some folks told me that even cheaper amp/DAC such as DX30 Pro+ would be good enough, so I don't want to over spend. This amazed me and decided to stop by here to hear your opinion. Having said that I have a few choices in mind and am open to any other suggestions. I want to buy something that is good enough that I don’t need to upgrade anytime soon again. Also, it would be advantageous if this recommendation would be compatible with physical EQ, or has its own software EQ that I can adjust from the amp itself.

What do you recommend? Also please tell me how much better than recommendation would be against my current amp?

- IFI Zen Dac + IFI Zen Can OR
- Topping E50/L50
- Modi/Magni
- Jotunheim/Modius
- Topping DX3 Pro+

Zensō

Major Contributor