• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Amp advice for a newbie!

Librarium

Hey folks! I'm new in the passive/amp audio, had active speakers my whole life, looking to get something better for my living room TV setup.

My speaker of choice would probably be Dynaudio Special 40 or maybe Evoke 20.

My budget is around $4000 for speakers and amp, so probably gonna get both from a used market. After doing some research came up with these options.
Ideally looking for an integrated amp with DAC and then add a streamer like Node 2i.

1) Preamp + power amp (Not ideal, need to get a DAC too)

Schiit Freya + Vidar. Have a Schiit stack for my Hifiman Arya's and really enjoy the sound.

2) Budget Integrated amp with DAC with good reviews

Denon 1600NE ($1100 open box)

3) Save for longer and get something higher end (Hegel, Lyngdorf, Naim)

4) Get higher end active speakers in my price range.

Not sure if they will sound better than passive+amp combo.

Buchardt A500 (Around $4000 new)
Dynaudio Focus 20XD ($4000 open box)

If you can add any options or give me some insight, that would be much appreciated.

Last edited:

Rip City Dave

Is your budget $4k for everything or just the amp/preamp?

If it's the latter, the Parasound Hint6 will check all your boxes. Great power, a dead-quiet preamp and a strong DAC.

OP
L

Librarium

Is your budget $4k for everything or just the amp/preamp?

If it's the latter, the Parasound Hint6 will check all your boxes. Great power, a dead-quiet preamp and a strong DAC.

$4000 is for speakers + amp, my bad, I'll edit the post.

blestin

Hey folks! I'm new in the passive/amp audio, had active speakers my whole life, looking to get something better for my living room TV setup.