• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

AIO Streamer + Amp for KEF R3

corywong88

Hello all,

I have been a lurker for some weeks, and a total noob in the Hi-Fi / Audophile area. This is my first post. Thanks for the nice community you have here!

My journey started since I listened a (what I considered decent) Hi-Fi from a friend in November and decided to buy something for me on Christmas.

In that moment I purchased (by recommendation of the dealer) a pair of KEF R3s + NAD C700, which from what I read maybe it wasn't the best combination and I told the dealer about that but he said that people in Internet writes crazy things, he told me that he tried this combination and it was great. I trusted him and received the equipment on late January.

Once I mounted the system, I was totally disappointed. No bass, and female voices kind of hurting my ear. I told this to the dealer and he said that it would be probably the room (not being treated), so I checked with some other dealers who told me that the NAD C700 wasn't a good match for the KEF R3s (in that moment I called back my dealer pretending to be a different person with KEF R3s and looking for a Streamer Amp and he told me I should go for a NAD M10 v2, Naim Uniti Atom or Hifi-Rose and saying that the C700 wasn't an option for these speakers). Yes, the same guy who told me this was a great combo...