• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

After my first step, my first stumble. Help please.

VrilDox

This is my first post here, and I am a beginner in all audio matters.
I started to get interested in audio and to read the basics about 1 month ago, prior to that the only thing that I already had to listen some music was a speaker set from Edifier (M601DB).
I was sending the music directly to the speakers using the Bluetooth from my smartphone.
But then I read that it was better to get an external DAC and let it do the conversion.
Some days ago I found a used Topping d10 balanced been sold for a quarter of its normal price, and I bought it.
Now that I have it in my hand, I discovered why it is called balanced...
The speaker only have the following inputs: Line In, AUX, Optical, Coaxial, Bluetooth.
So, my first problem is: how can I connect this DAC to my speakers with maximum possible audio quality and without spending too much?

Thanks.

Vini darko

Major Contributor
Hi welcome to asr. You need a ts to rca cable to connect the dac to the speakers.
Here's one for reasonable money that is nice and flexible and doesn't pick up noise. Use these visiosound in my system and have no complaints.
2 x 6.35mm 1/4" Mono Jack to 2 x RCA Phono Plug Twin Lead/Audio Signal Cable 1.5m https://amzn.eu/d/fHUwGce

NTK

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
The "official" words from @JohnYang1997 of Topping regarding using TRS to RCA adapters are "don't do it".

Eetu

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
Since the speaker has digital inputs the analog input likely goes through an extra AD conversion as well. So something like the WiiM Mini for the optical in would have been optimal.

voodooless

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor