• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Advice on my proposed 'forever' system

greyhound

Hi there

I'm thinking of building what I am optomistically calling my Forever System, but am way out of my depth and could do with some advice.

A bit of background first - I've been producing music as a hobby for around 20 years now, and have always used Active Monitors. I'm particularly enamoured with the Dynaudio sound, and have used a pair of BM5As with a BM9S for maybe 15 years now.

Upstairs in our living room I'm running a pair of Dynaudio Xeo4. They're ok, but I'd like to significantly upgrade. Whatever we upgrade to will need to pass the visual test for my partner though ;)

I realise that probably the biggest difference I'm realistically going to make is with room correction and/or dynamic eq. Room correction is right out (we'll be moving house in the coming months and anyway there's no way bass traps etc will pass the visual test!) so I've been looking at Dirac and RoomPerfect.

I like what I've read about RoomPerfect, and currently am planning on getting the Lyngdorf TDAi 1120 as it has streaming capability, seems good value, and will be less painful to upgrade if/when technology improves substantially.

The rest of the system would (optimistically) be for the rest of my life. So, I'm thinking of pairing the Lyngdorf with pair of Dynaudio Contour 30i, and using my existing Technics SL1210, which has sentimental value shall we say.

My main worries are: