• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Advice on an Amp / DAC combo for my budget?

BraXzy

I'm a complete amateur when it comes to audio stuff, but I've been looking into getting my set up improved with an Amp / DAC combo (whether it be an actual combo unit or a stack) and am struggling to settle on an option for my budget of £100-200 ish.

I'm currently running some Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro (80 Ohm)'s with a ModMic through a Xonar DGX soundcard. I want to improve my existing set up but also give myself flexibility for potential future headphones. I was hoping to get something simplified that'd take both headphone and mic input but realise that's not a common thing.

I've considered any and all of the following:

FiiO K3 - £90
FiiO K5 Pro - £160
Schiit Hel - £190 (Out of stock for months)
Schiit Fulla 3 - £90 (Out of stock for months)
JDS Labs Atom (DAC + Amp stack) - £200 (+ import and shipping)
Creative Sound Blaster X3 - £100
Topping DX3 Pro - £160

I've tried my best to find reviews / opinions on these but all have both good and mixed comments online, it feels impossible to know which is "best" or at least best value for money. Do I need the £200 stack if I won't notice improvement from the £90 / £100 alternatives for example.

Would just really appreciate some advice and opinions from people with a better understanding, thanks :)

Last edited:

twsecrest

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Me, I think I would go for the Topping DX3 Pro.
Also I would replace the DT770 80-Ohm.

A Surfer

Major Contributor