• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Advice for audio noob

Blouge

Hi,

I'm an audio noob. Should I just live with sound from my motherboard audio (MSI MAG X570S Tomahawk MAX WIFI)? I listen through earbuds connected to the front panel. I hear almost no white noise / atomic noise, but rarely - if the PC is busy - I hear very high pitched muffled whirrs.

I am throwing my Audigy 2 ZS in the garbage since I've moved past PCI on to PCI-E.
I heard SoundBlaster X-Fis have support for EAX 5.0 games. Should I get one of those? Audigy RX seems appealing, but doesn't support EAX 5.0.

Or should I buy a DAC like this for my headphones? https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09JC3TCJ...&colid=MJS7P7WPM77&psc=1&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it
It has very good reviews here. Should I connect it to my PC with a USB cable?

Do speakers connect to the DAC or do I need speakers that connect directly to my PC?

I love these ridiculously cheap earbuds and bought well over five of them, maybe close to ten of them: https://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-Headphones-RP-HJE120-Ergonomic-Comfort-Fit/dp/B003EM6AOG
I find that big headphones are hot and irritate my skin. Also, noise cancelling seems like a gimmick (they just emit white noise).
Please advise me on what headphones are best.

charleski

Major Contributor
You need to be clear about what you’re actually looking for.
You say you listen using earbuds but then mention speakers. Do you want desktop speakers, headphones, or both? How much do you want to spend?
Do you want a sound card that’ll provide pseudo-spatial effects?