• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

[ADVICE] Better audio than ALC1220

MrZammler

Hi!

Newbie here, need some advice please!

I've built a new PC based on Asus B450-I (mini itx) board. It uses the ALC1220 chip for sound.

Before that, I had an old Core2Duo PC, which had a Creative X-Fi titanium Fatal1ty Pro card. Now; my hearing isn't the best. I don't have expensive speakers or expensive IEMS. But without being able to pinpoint exactly how, the ALC1220 sounds worse than the Creative card. I think I remember the creative being brighter and maybe more spacious than the ALC1220. But really I'm not 100% sure...

So the question is: Am I mad? The 1220 is supposed to be an OK sound chip, is it worse than the Creative card? If yes, would an external x-fi HD USB card be close to sound like the Fatal1ty, or should I got maybe for the Topping D10s? Or is it just my imagination and there won't be any real difference in the end?

Thanks a lot!!

NTK

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
Welcome to ASR!

The chip is only one part of the whole equation. The rest of the implementation matters a lot too. For example, you can take a look at Amir's review of the Dell XPS 8930. Its audio performance was absolutely atrocious — pitiful headphone output power, huge output impedance. These defects are absolutely audible. Not to say it is representative of your Asus motherboard, but without measurements, you never know.

What are you driving with your PC? Headphones, amp, active speakers?

Killingbeans

Major Contributor
The 1220 is supposed to be an OK sound chip, is it worse than the Creative card?