• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Active Curved Beyma 15MC700nd/AE TD12M/TPL150H

morpheusX

This project started 4 years ago, but lots of things happened in between and i was only able to complete the speakers today :)

Design

Here the speaker dimensions, as designed 4 years ago:

cNXrgVr.png

Drivers

- Beyma 15MC700nd: X < 350Hz
- AE TD12M: 350 < X < 1500Hz
- Beyma TPL-150H: 1500Hz < X < 20000Hz

(Crossover points will be dictated by real measures, but should be around those values).
Crossover will be Active, using a Monacor DSM-48LAN.

Boxes

Here the empty boxes, before stuffing and final coating:

rF3ufrP.jpg

HwG8YlG.png

ys8GSst.jpg

Final Speakers
(sorry for the low image quality, i'm a really bad photographer)

Grills off:

fA3r7pv.jpg

Grills On:
RDa1lXc.jpg

One full speaker weight around 60kgs!

Some details

The backplate for the TPL-150H was removed, leaving the felt protection:

wbHDf85.png

Drivers were stuffed with a mixture of:
- 4mm Bitumen pads glued to the walls
- Wool felt glued to the bitumen pads
- One high density rockwool 70 kg/m³ wall at the middle of the box
- Low density "fluffy" rockwool 30 kg/m³
- Raw wool

0j9VUrB.jpg

8EmvT4r.jpg

GIWJilT.jpg

PmNEn7B.jpg

Initial Driver Measurements
(just for checking everything was ok)

A nearfield measure for both TPL-150H boxes (measured indoor, with ceiling at 1.8m at the measurement position):

z6kxrRq.jpg

A nearfield measure for both Beyma 15MC700nd boxes (measured indoor, with ceiling at 1.8m at the measurement position):
MnhgscE.jpg

(i accidently removed the measures for the AE TD12M, but both tracked perfectly as well).
You can find detailed measurements for the AE TD12M on drivervault.