• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

About player softwares

Guilherme

Hello,
I need to know about sound quality in music players. I've been using foobar for several years, but now I'm into this "hifi" thing and want to know more about how it works. If someone has nice tutorials about it I would be very glad.
I start with a very simples question:
I have a Behringer Audio Interface (UMC204HD) and put on foobar to play it by asio: UMC ASIO, the driver from Behringer (btw, is it the best way?). I've just sign up for a trial to Roon and put the same playback output: UMC ASIO. Doing this, do the audio players interfere on sound or just work as a "file finder", once what's doing the output is ASIO? Am I thinking right about it?
My only concern is sound quality. Organization I prefer through Windows's folders.
Thanks!

Sal1950

Grand Contributor
The Chicago Crusher
Forum Donor

BillG

Major Contributor
Or to put it the other way around, they all should sound the same.
If they don't, they're doing something wrong and manipulative of the data.
A bit perfect data stream of the desired file is just that, perfect. ;)

Yes, I'm well aware of that being a professional software engineer. However, some of them, HQPlayer for example, use some "exotic" DSP that certain audiophiles obsess over... :rolleyes:

Sal1950

Grand Contributor
The Chicago Crusher
Forum Donor
Yes, I'm well aware of that being a professional software engineer. However, some of them, HQPlayer for example, use some "exotic" DSP that certain audiophiles obsess over... :rolleyes:
Why Certainly,
Everyone knows that once you take 16/44 and upsample it to 256 DSD it sound SOOOOO much better.
curly.jpg

luxnulla

Hello,