• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

About DAC chip

momo7G

It seems to me most mid-fi, hi-fi DAC like to use ESS sabre chip in their products. In some cases, it is used for marketing purposes too.

Is there a reason why they are so dominant? Are they really out perform their opponents by much?? Or the chip is more easy to work with??

Drowning in deep thought...

Veri

Master Contributor
AKM chips are also very often occurring. Most of Sony's products rely on them, including their PlayStation franchise and Nintendo could be using them as well, AKM is Japanese after all. ESS is Chinese(?).

Last edited:

RayDunzl

Grand Contributor
Central Scrutinizer

gvl

Major Contributor
I'm no expert but I think ESS chips are popular as they can and usually are run in the jitter rejecting async mode which allows designers to put less attention to the digital signal path to the DAC chip. At the same time I don't know if they are any more popular as say the AKM chips. I does seem however that TI (BurrBrown), AD, and Cirrus Logic (Wolfson) chips are falling out of fashion for some reason, in the audiophile market anyway, which probably is just marketing.

Last edited:

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)
I don't know the reason but I suspect ESS is more active in China than AKM. I just searched for ESS office in China and immediately landed on this page: http://www.essaudio.cc/index.php/index/english

I did the same search for AKM and nothing came up.

In general, outside of US, technology from America is considered a plus in audio. So that may have something to do with it too seeing how AKM is a Japanese company.

gvl

Major Contributor