• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

A nice Dac/Amp suggestion

Nas4

Hello guys,

I'm pretty new in all audiophile stuff but not long ago I purchased Fiio A3 amp to connect to my laptop, it's nice but I just need something more. I really want to have a nice DAC/Amp that will improve my onboard audio (Realtek lol) and to be able to listen high fidelity music through streaming services and my own collection. I got hooked on Sound blasterx G6 for a while but after reading here and there I finally gave up on external cards. Then I found this forum and read a few measurements and discussions and have decided to get a nice DAC/Amp. I have some in mind but I would appreciate your honest opinion or suggestion.
Here's what I want (or similar):
1. Fiio Q3 ( I like the portability and the bass switch)
2. xDuoo XD-05 Basic/Plus
3. Ifi ZenDac/ HipDac
Or something easily transportable (not as small as a dongle) cause i tend to travel a lot. Also, around 200$, not too expensive. Please give an opinion

Roland68

Major Contributor
For me personally, the Topping NX4 DSD is the best device under $ 200.
Long running time, high output power, good features, very good sound, small design, bass and gain switch on the top.

The Ifi ZenDac has no battery.

OP
N

Nas4

Thanks for your kind suggestion! I will consider it but how it's compared to xDuoo XD-05

Roland68

Major Contributor
Both my Xduoo XD05 and my plus had a clear channel imbalance in the first third of the volume range. But that varies with this model, maybe I was just unlucky. In addition, there was the high weight and size (2.5 x volume of the NX4).