• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

A good used CD player ?

FTB

Hi there,

I buy back some audio gear after a period where I sold everything and I am looking for a nice CD player.

I have a good collection of CD and this is my second listening source after streaming so yes, I am in to buy a CD player.

In the past I had a Cambridge Audio CD6, pretty good I remember the deep and solid bass and it sounded like "large spectrum".
Then I had a Arcam Alpha, I can't remember if it was Alpha 7 or 8. I remember the sound was sweeter, more "velvet cloth", less bass tight...
But we all know sound memory can be very tricky.

I am a student, I would like something about 100 €.

Here : https://www.whathifi.com/features/best-24-cd-players-what-hi-fis-lifetime

they talk about the Marantz CD52 and the Arcam Alpha 7 I may already had.
Both can be found for around 100 €.

Does someones know these two CD players and can tell me "go for the Arcam again you won't be disappointed !" or "go for the Marantz that's a true stuff from a great audio brand !"

Or any suggestion in my budget !

Thanks,
Florian

DVDdoug

Major Contributor
pretty good I remember the deep and solid bass and it sounded like "large spectrum".
CD players don't normally have any particular "sound". They are generally very good at accurately converting digital to analog. That's actually true of most electronics. (Different amplifiers and receivers will have different "features" and different power output.)