• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

A few Adcom GFA 555 questions

mixsit

Forum Donor
I've been running this original version of the amp since new -(1985 to 90 perhaps?) and wanted to ask a few questions.
First to it's continued safe use given it's age and concern for some very nice speakers I would hate to see harmed.
Second is simply might there be possible sonic improvements to be had from other amplifiers? I don't hold any particular faults with the amp, but nor have I used anything else in years, plus I wouldn't mind having a bit more headroom occasionally available for the larger of the speaker sets.
Thanks

Sal1950

Grand Contributor
The Chicago Crusher
Forum Donor
I'm running 3 GFA545 II's and 2 535 II's in a multich system, none have failed over that last 2 years of heavy use. Internal inspection and cleaning of all revealed no repairs ever done, very minor drift of bias easily tweaked to spec.
Do to age you can be sure there's a chance of failure but I've seen lots of much, much newer amps let the smoke out.
You might look into having it recaped if you want to spend a few bucks.
I doubt you'll ever find anything audibly better in a DBT.

OP
M

mixsit

Forum Donor
I did the 'bias drift check a few years ago on the output lugs to be ok -per some instructions I found at the time. (I don't recall the number, nor find the source I used at the time.) I assume some components degrade in time correct?
Perhaps one question I should ask; If amps like these do fail, how likely might it damage the speakers?
Thanks

Sal1950

Grand Contributor
The Chicago Crusher
Forum Donor
Perhaps one question I should ask; If amps like these do fail, how likely might it damage the speakers?