• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

500$ Budget for Headphones and Amp/Dac

Waldfee

Hello,

Am a complete noob on the subject of Headphones and Amps I have spent the last two days browsing through google but that has only made things worse for me because there is so much choice. Hope you can help me narrow down the choices a bit.

Budget: 500€
Music taste: 10% Rock - 10% EDM - 10% Heavy Metal - 10% Pop - 10% Rap - 10% House/Techno/Trance - 10% Indie - 10% Classical music (but most on the piano without orchestra).
Intended use: at home for music (Spotify + Youtube) and gaming (competitive and single player). Closed or open doesn't matter.
Listening habits: Dont rly know the difference between neutral or warm.
Existing equipment: Nothing at all.

Do you even need an amp if you buy for example the Headphones for 500€ but no Amp? Or is a 200€ Headphone better with an amp than a 500 € Headphone without amp.

Thanks in advance. (Please move this in the right thread if i'm wrong here ;D

tifune

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
So far you have absolutely no preferences and you listen to "everything.". Hoenstly I'd just go to a thrift store or borrow something from a friend so you have some frame of reference, anything really, even if it's just "I tried this model and they made my ears too hot."

Build off of that before you blindly spend 500+, no reason to rush it. I promise good music will still (probably) sound good even on bad headphines

Buy this: drop.com HD6XX headphones; Schiit Audio Modi DAC; Schitt Audio Magni Heresy headphone amplifier
Total will be around 500 dollars US. May be closer to 500 Euros in Europe.

someguyontheinternet