• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

1-in 2-out Switcher - Which one?

ILVA

Hello, ASR'ers!
First of all, let me introduce myself. I'm ILVA from Russia (I am NOT a hacker, so relax, but keep your OPSEC anyway, ok? ;))
So... I'm a total noob getting my feet wet in audio equipment and this whole audiophile thing. Nothing crazy, I just want my system to sound good (well, that's how it begins, is not it? :p).

Currently, my main driver looks like this:
PC (Mac) => External Audio Card (Creative Sound Blaster Omni Surround 5.1) => RCA cable (6 meter) => Microlab Solo 3C (rather good and spacious sounding 2.0 system with prebuilt amp).

It sounds good enough, but sometimes on difficult compositions (poly-instrumental rock, symphonic-rock, contemporary classic and folk (that's the music I listen to most often, BTW)) it sounds a bit muffled to my taste.

Speakers are sitting behind me by the HDTV (which I use as a second monitor for watching movies and the other stuff).

I want to get a proper DAC. After considering my options and budget I decided to get TOPPING D50 (thanks, Amir, your review has given me the confidence in this choice).

So my setup would look like that:
Mac => Omni Surround 5.1 => Toslink 0.5 m cable => Topping D50 => RCA cable (6 meter) => Microlab Solo 3C

But here is a problem. My iMac speakers suck for music as almost everything built-in these days.
I would like to get in the near future a separate set of tabletop speakers (most likely, 2.0 or 2.1 system) and 'd like to switch between them (when I work on my PC, I would like to use the front facing speakers, but when I am watching a movie, those Microlab's would come into play). And here I come to you with a question.