Search results

1. E

Need help expanding my 2.1 system into 2.2

I've done a bit of research on this and the standards used are flexible. I understand that often LFE is often thrown away, but if you read for example the Netflix specification, it is suggested that the LFE channel may be added at -8 to -12 dB...
  2. E

Why people still use tube amps when there are plenty of tubes already used in the making of music

I'm far from an expert but I could imagine that when recording organs you could use ORTF in a cathedral and get a sound like it sounds in the audience.
  3. E

Why people still use tube amps when there are plenty of tubes already used in the making of music

Not entirely true, because studio engineering is about selecting microphones and microphone placement. For example close micing electric guitar amps: what is recorded is not what you hear in the room! Similarly: recording pianos is (supposedly) a real PITA and a lot of recorded pianos that...
  4. E

Share your in-room measurements?

9 measurements per speaker might be a bit much and a lot of work. For my last configuration I used 4 measurements per speaker and vector averaged those. In REW make sure to press "cross correlate align" before making a vector average. I developed output channel filters per speaker based on those...
  5. E

Dirac with Harman +4 looks best to me. I notice a couple of things in the first graph: 1. big boost between 20 and 35. 2. Dissimilar high frequency response between left and right 3. Front right has regular bumps between 500-1200, that is probably placement related 4. Try to make averages of...
  6. E

Please, for the love of God - Help me. Revel Performa 3 M106.

I stand corrected, I didn't read it properly and didn't notice they offered a pair of cables. 30 GBP each is much more reasonable. Especially when factoring in the cost for the time needed for getting the tools out and assembling your own banana plugs on the cable ends.
  7. E