Search results

1. Z

Car Audio: Fixing a 1979 Porsche 924. What would an "audiophile" setup of roughly that era look like? I'm a noob.

I think I may have some of those. The car came with a whole trunkload (and the 924 has a pretty sizable one) of replacement parts. haha. This thing has project potential for years to come. I'm gonna have to inventory those at some point. What I'd really like to source are newer rear struts to...
  2. Z

Car Audio: Fixing a 1979 Porsche 924. What would an "audiophile" setup of roughly that era look like? I'm a noob.

I'm pretty good at reading! :) I brought a 1979 Yamaha XS750 back from "purgatory" (wasn't dead yet, but it needed some work). I never managed to acquire the skills necessary to ride it (it's a large bike for someone who doesn't know how ride them), but I am pretty sure I managed to at least get...
  3. Z

The road noise will just mask noise from cassettes! The SNR for pre-recorded cassettes isn't great anyways. haha. My goal is to create a bubble universe based on my romantic/naive notions of time (1980s) that I wasn't even alive for (born 1989).
  4. Z

I've found fixing old motor vehicles to be a pretty good learning experience. I don't know how useful that knowledge will be. Messing with thing gets me out of bed and doing stuff. Besides everyone has to have a hooptie! Except I don't have another non-dilapidated automobile (for my personal...
  5. Z

Cool! I didn't know such a thing a thing existed! $1200 in 1980 works out to $3792 USD adjusted for inflation. Dang. It looks cool too! I'm gonna keep my eyes peeled for one of these. Maybe I'll happen across one by chance at some point in the future. It was random chance that I "got into"...
  6. Z