Search results

1. Arnold Krueger

AES Paper Digest: Do Audio Op-amps Sound Different?

There are situations where crossover distortion was detected using highly efficient loudspeakers or headphones. Sometimes a pure tone, possibly at a lower frequency like 100 Hz was involved. But detection with music has also been reported. It is truly like a rubbing voice coil, so it if you...
  2. Arnold Krueger

AES Paper Digest: Differences among Several High Sampling Digital Recording Formats

This is a summary of many of the past studies in this area. Its a free download to everybody: http://www.aes.org/e-lib/browse.cfm?elib=18296
  3. Arnold Krueger

Besides all of the sighted and DBT listening tests I've been measuring audio gear for over 50 years. There was a time in the 60s where amps with failed or misadjusted bias were not uncommon. By the 80s the adjustments largely disappeared, and the parts devoted to the issue were a trivial expense...
  4. Arnold Krueger

Earl found that one form of nonlinear distortion, crossover distortion in poorly designed class ab amplifiers that experience bias failure and slip into class b might evidence this problem. This type of distortion is shown as item B in Figure 1 in the paper you referenced. FWIW I think the...
  5. Arnold Krueger

That a piece of gear won't itself bias a test it is used in should be vetted. In the case of ADCs and DACs that can be done by hooking them together back-to-back and re-recording diagnostic musical passages through them a number of times. Some very cheap gear is so bad that just one pass is...
  6. Arnold Krueger

Doing listening tests by comparing carefully prepared computer files allows greater convenience in both preparing and performing the test. Computer programs for doing double blind comparisons are freely download able from several sources. I haven't been able to vet them all, but the ABX Plug...
  7. Arnold Krueger