Search results

1. G

DIY sub for Neumann KH420

A net volume of 48l is just about right for 2x BMS 12S330. Fb, Qtc around 60Hz, 0.5. I'd guess the drivers would consume 9-10l volume, so that would make it 58-60l box. Check out the box volume calculator in Vituix. Maybe 12mm wall thickness is already adequate, with double thickness on the...
  2. G

Compression drivers?

I'm not an expert either. Which geometry does wide horizontal and narrow vertical nicely? I vaguely recall that Greg Timbers said that the vertical orientation of the biradial horn on the JBL Array 1400 is actually the right orientation, something along those lines. For example Limmerhorns...
  3. G

JBL L82/L100-inspired bookshelves

If I have the dimensions of the L82 right, I'd estimate the cabinet's net volume to be around 27l. You'd need more of a subwoofer type 10" with lower Vas than those you've listed. and also low Fs. Like the subwoofer version of the SB29: SB29SWNRX or the Peerless XLS-P830452. It seems to me right...
  4. G

Compression drivers?

I like the response of the RCF ND650 in the factory datasheet better, and I guess would consider the poly surround a plus. Among others the Lavoce HD1403 horn looks nice, 80deg horizontal, the B&C ME90 is nice as well.
  5. G

DIY shoeboxes with drivers + external amp and active xover?

This would work with a 3-way. For example looking at the Faital 6RS140 mid-woofer: a small sealed box with net volume of 2.5-3l would result in a 2nd order high-pass response with Q=0.5, same as a LR2 crossover slope, with -6dB at 136.5Hz. Use a matching LR2 low-pass on a woofer below and that...
  6. G

Crazy PA Coaxials for Hifi

The 10" and 12" ones from BMS have a pretty smooth FR. Also their 44mm voice coil compression drivers are specced for a low crossover frequencies, based on that they should work well for a 1kHz crossover. I was curious how a passive crossover would look like for the 10", gave it a try in...
  7. G

Crazy PA Coaxials for Hifi