Search results

1. VMAT4

Newbie here, looking for input for upgrading my current 2-channel system

Analysis, Synthesis, then Evaluation. One step at a time is the way to go. Don't even consider what to buy until the problem(s) or lack of problem(s) is/are known and defined. Use REW and the UMIK-1 first. Go from there. Incidently, I need to take my own advice here. It just occurred to me...
  2. VMAT4

Recommendation for stereo audio signal path.

If you own all of the above, what do your ears tell you? If not, maybe, you might consider the Topping D10. It has RCA analogue out and both optical and coax out. But, it has only USB in. As a DAC it gets good reviews. Yet, it may be used as an USB to TOSLINK converter. I believe all outputs...
  3. VMAT4

What are we listening to right now..

The other side of P.D.Q. Bach
  4. VMAT4

<$1k integrated amp w/o digital.. suggestions?

Have you considered the Outlaw RR 2160? It has digital. Which, has been panned in reviews. But it's about $850. Worth it to check out this link?
  5. VMAT4

What are some records that are great from start-to-finish that everyone should hear, regardless of genre or era?

I haven't listened to these from start to finish in a long time. But, Quadraphenia and Elvis Costello's Imperial Bedroom are worth the effort and time of a start to finish listen..
  6. VMAT4

Exciting review coming up tomorrow....

Good, that's exactly when my cats wake me up to feed them here in Pennsylvania!
  7. VMAT4

I'll wager a half dozen KrispyKremes that it is a production Purifi product.
  8. VMAT4

Purchase Questions/Help- Did I make a Mistake?

This is nasty. Sell the DX7s to your son or one of his buddies. You'll need a DAC with a USB input? Or, you"ll use a TOSLINK optical or coaxial from your MAC? You'll hook-up the CD player through digital or analogue means? From the TT you'll need a phono amp to the DROP AAA THX 789, right...
  9. VMAT4

Purchase Questions/Help- Did I make a Mistake?