Search results

1. NTK

Merit in measuring @ 1 watt (first watt performance)?

The issue is a little bit more subtle. There is a "problem" with measuring power amp output using single tone sine waves. Music is not a single tone sine wave. The important difference is in the crest factor. Single tone sine waves has a crest factor of 3 dB, which means the V_peak is 1.414 *...
  2. NTK

Talk to me about bandwidth

Awesome. I'm sure your setup will work great. For me, the lack of a physical volume knob with the MiniDSP is a major usability hit too. Sometimes these seemingly minor non-technical flaws actually matter a lot.
  3. NTK

Haha! You got a fancy name for that. Obviously I am no expert in dimensional analysis. Any knowledge of it has been long returned to my fluids dynamics professor (only place I remember seeing it). That's is a difficult question without a simple answer, IMO. The difficulty is that headphones EQ...
  4. NTK

IMO if you are using a MiniDSP 2x4HD, you shouldn't need the iFi DAC (unless you need it for headphones). The MiniDSP will just A/D the signal, process it, and D/A it out. You are ultimately limited by the A/D D/A capability of the MiniDSP. Why not just feed digital signals directly to the...
  5. NTK

The transparency/quality of AD/DA process in your Crown is more a matter of the implementation than the bit depth/sampling rate capabilities of the ADC/DAC chips. The bit depth/sampling rate of the Crown is sufficient. It is the actual implementation of the electronics that is usually the...
  6. NTK

I have a Klippel question (albeit perhaps a naïve one)

The NFS uses spherical harmonics to model the speaker's radiation directivity. Below is a picture from Klippel (source) to help visualize the radiation patterns of these spherical harmonics. What is being done is akin, in concept, to discrete Fourier transform where it can decompose an...
  7. NTK

JDS Labs ATOM AMP vs. ELEMENT AMP II