Search results

1. Wombat

Are Electronic Amplifiers a Solved Problem ??

Read this and consider if (I'm assuming the OP is referring to audio) amplifiers need to be a problem: Resolution. AF is a doddle in the amplifier design zoo.
  2. Wombat

Horns - Necessary to complete the Audiophile Journey?

https://www.grc.com/acoustics/an-introduction-to-horn-theory.pdf
  3. Wombat

The Science Delusion: has science become dogmatic?

An anecdote. When I studied Introduction to Law, the tutor explained how English Law was devised as a considered, albeit expensive but alternatively less so, means to prevent the Establishment Class from killing themselves off in 'duels of honour' and thus diminishing the Right To Rule class...
  4. Wombat

Audioengine A5+ Powered Speaker Review

Mine don't hiss. The exception, maybe, as I have intimated several times. So no, 'not all' as you generalise. Go back and read my posts carefully.
  5. Wombat

I did point out in the posts that hiss that is inherent in the gear probably can't be fixed, but it can possibly be ameliorated, if not eliminated, by gain staging. My LSR 305Mk11s do not have a hiss problem. I did say that I was probably lucky. The steps I outlined in my post that referred to...
  6. Wombat

My treated 511s are fine for me. I am pleased that you are happy with your round tractrix horns. They don't give the dispersion that I require, so I didn't make/use them. Your 902s are not as good low down as the 802s but they are very fine CDs over their range. If I used 902s I would probably...
  7. Wombat

Wondering about purchasing a hybrid amplifier

OP. Do you really think that anyone here is familiar with that low count product and can advise you? Worth a try I guess. Your detailed OPs made me think you were very keen on it.
  8. Wombat

Wondering about purchasing a hybrid amplifier